the maid-of-honour

31 Jul

People come and go though we don’t like it that way. Kalpana taai, my x-house help is among those important people..  She pampered me so much (but ofcourse worshipped my brother! irritatingly, the whole world’s partial to that fellow); provided hot food, superb massages, kept the house spic and span as if it were a museum.

So frail at 60, she had the energy of a youth. She would barely reach my shoulder, and i am short. But u cross her path, and u wudn’t be spared. The only earning member of her useless family, I was so inspired by her zeal.

She loved to adorn her hair with flowers and made rocking nimbu paani. She would rather work than sit for pooja! She wud rather work than sleep. She basically loved working! Which was so refreshing, especially for my mom! Perhaps the only bad habit she had was she wud chew tobacco. Taai was too up tight to care for my constant nagging against it. She wud act as if i was talking to the fan and give me a look which when translated, read, “this is the only thing i do wrong, so deal with it gurl!”

In my house she managed the materialistic abundance with élan against going back to her home where she had to walk a mile and stand in queue forever to fill 2 buckets of water.(god can be cruel at times!! grrrhh)
Unfortunately she doesn’t come home anymore. Where ever u are kalpana taai, i love u.

4 Responses to “the maid-of-honour”

  1. Abhiram August 3, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    Amazing posts priya. You have inspired me to start of my own blog and the first post is going to be about someone like this…. I was thinking about him and then i read your post….
    Love you…

  2. Arvind Iyer August 4, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    Kalpana Taai sounds cool!

  3. anubrata August 20, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    didi read all ur posts….absolutely awesome….u shud publish dem in a book sometime didi…i am serious…all the posts have gone very deep inside me….and truly i am honoured to kno a person like….and more than that ,have u as my teacher…u have made me realise what the guru-shishya bond is really like…and i promise u didi someday u ll see me in the ashram doin TTC

  4. Aparna August 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    reminds me of my Maari taai.. 🙂 wow.. i wonder what i would have done without her in my younger days 🙂

    My first comment on your blog.. 🙂 Be ready to get spamed here on 😉

Leave a Reply

